Racism AND Obesity in ONE movie

September 2, 2007

Hairspray. Musicals weren’t always my kind of thing although I generally enjoyed songs and whatnot. It was in recent weeks that my appreciation for all sorts of musicals was awakened by Nicole(also known as Sorbetera). We watched this seemingly harmless movie based off a musical and movie. Yes, Hairspray(2007) was based from the 2002 musical production and the 1988 comedy film both of the same title. But enough history lessons, was this movie any good? Yes, it was.

Like Nicole, I hadn’t much of a clue on what it was about since all I saw were a couple posters which was enough to garner my interest to actually watch it. So when the opportunity came for us to watch a movie, there was no debate that we were going to watch it since it began screening that day. We both were hoping for a treat and a treat we sure had. It started off with a song that felt warm and fuzzy which set my mood for something hopeful and dreamy. That mood was shattered when I heard The Nicest Kids in Town song for The Corny Collins Show. Come on! Who wouldn’t burst out in laughter with lyrics like these?

Nice white kids
Who like to lead the way
And once a month
We have our “negro day!”

Those lines with such a cheesy smile could only be pulled off by James Marsden to which I give a thumbs up to. Another noteworthy person to mention is none other than the ever so attractive Michelle Pfeiffer. Damn it, it sounds like MILF but for someone who’s 49, she still has the looks that just exude elegance and beauty. This was particularly highlighted by her song The Legend of Miss Baltimore Crabs. There is simply something with her that just lures you. Personally, I think it’s the eyes.

I don’t want to disclose any details of the movie since I’d rather have you watch it instead. So I’ll just make a few more comments!

I refuse to admit it but I have to say that Amanda Bynes was hot. There, I said it. I wasn’t really fond of her but this movie made her look better. Perhaps it was the tan? But whenever she’d look at Seaweed(Elijah Kelley), I swear that you can actually see it in her Christian eyes that she wanted it! And when I mean it, I mean she wanted her chocolate and she wanted it now. If a girl ever looked at me that way(I perpetually wish for this to happen), I would tie her up and make sure she never got away.


Come on! You know she likes it when you tie her up like that!

In closure, I recommend this movie to everyone. Heck, John Travolta is in the movie dressed in wax and dances with Christopher Walken! It has a pretty good cast and it lived up to more than what I had expected the movie to be. It certainly made me want to watch the movie again if I had the chance. It’s a feel-good movie with a not-so-impressive performance from Zac Efron but a pretty darn good one from just about everyone else. So yes, it is something you should watch. What are you still doing here reading? Go out there and watch it!


Ascognati and Sorbetera gives HAIRSPRAY a thumbs up!

One Response to “Racism AND Obesity in ONE movie”

  1. Ade said

    Okay, the seal of approval thing really cracked me up.

    Also, racism AND obesity? AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

