I look like a woman?

October 26, 2007

Don’t get me wrong. She’s pretty. You’re cute. But it’s either she’s a woman who looks like a man or you’re a man who looks like a woman.

These words spoken without a second thought from my trainer at Convergys threw the class into a laugh trip. We were doing a small exercise to get ourselves more comfortable with English when she commented that I looked like her co-trainer… who was a woman. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t take offense to what she said. It’s just that this is not the first time that I’ve gotten that kind of remark. First occasion was that time at a YFC meeting where a fellow YFC told me I looked like her best friend… who was a girl. Since then, she calls me ‘Ate Sonya’ once in a while just to spite me. I never took it seriously and dismissed it as some sad delusion she probably has. My trainer meant no harm and intended it as a joke. But often times, jokes are half-meant and bear a certain amount of truth to them. So I intend to uncover the truth.

Is it my lack of facial hair? Although I shave, I only do so to prevent looking like a catfish. Yes, when my ‘mustache’ grows, it seems to grow faster at the ends. As far as I know, I have no Chinese ancestors but we’ll leave the mystery of my facial hair for another blog post.

Is it my youthful appearance? I know that I don’t have wrinkles yet but then again, many others my age don’t either.

Maybe that co-trainer just looked like a guy. Some things in this world are a complete mystery to me. I’ll get around to blogging about the mysteries of the universe. But until I find out the truth (aka, meet this co-trainer or at least see her), I will continue to feel conscious about looking like a chick. Perhaps this is a reason why I used to get the ‘gay’ first impression. It’s not very comforting but hey, it’s a step to looking more manly.

…so I don’t look manly?

Leave a Reply

