The Price of Ambition

January 18, 2008

I’ve come to believe that there are generally 2 kinds of people when it comes to aspect of ambition: Those who can be happy/contented with whatever it is that they have and those who want more. Although we occasionally become one or the other from time to time, we are generally one of them most of the time. For some random reason, I feel like discussing the topic and will probably give a bit of an in-depth commentary on my belief.

The Content
These people tend to not mind if things aren’t always in top condition. They seem to be more concerned with maintaining whatever it is that they already have. In short, the stability of a rock.

Stability

After all, why fix something that’s not broken, right? Things are perfectly fine the way they are now so just enjoy it. Under this category are also those who are passive and don’t really care because unlike The Ambitious, they’d rather not have to exert any more effort to get something they can go on without.

The Ambitious
This is the category of people who want more than what is currently available to them. These people want things that will make a little easier, a little faster, a little better, a little bit more. However, the degree of wants would vary from person to person. But regardless of whatever or however much they want, they generally want more on a consistent basis. One common characteristic of these people would be their constant struggle from boredom.

BOARD

Like the bored kitty said, he wants MOAR. After all, why not live life to the fullest? We only live once and so we should maximize it. Take risks, experiment, go beyond our daily routines to do something that would give us more then we would get if we just toiled regularly.

We constantly drift between these two extremes. The content person may want to improve his life once every blue moon if things go a little downhill beyond his control. The ambitious person may want to settle down for a moment and enjoy his spoils before moving on to his next conquest. But we are one type more often than the other.

For me, I believe that I’m more ambitious than content. Mostly because I can’t stand a grinding tasks whether it be in gaming or IRL for too long. I feel that I need to be constantly stimulated by life for me to be able to perform at my peak. At the same time however, I can’t really do so well if it demands change and action at a constant and rapid pace. You could say I’m ambitious who wants to take his time. However, this comes at a price.

Because I tend to be a little(possibly an understatement) overconfident when it comes to my full potential, I tend to let myself down a lot which kinda gets me a bit frustrated from time to time. I usually think that I can do better than I did. A result of my ambition of wanting something done but can’t. I wonder though, how do we know if we’ve reached our limit or whether we just need to try a little harder? There are some stories of people who tried enough times to finally achieve their goal. At the same time, we know that there is a certain limit to what we can do. So when is either?

Hmm, whatever. It’s already dawn. It’s time to get some breakfast and put my restless mind to sleep.

3 Responses to “The Price of Ambition”

  1. Kang said

    Linking you. *kick* Teehee.

  2. wei vines said

    nice read! πŸ˜‰

  3. Falafel said

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation πŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Falafel!!

Leave a Reply

